“Poetry Poster” Proposal

Eve Revisited

By Alison Hawthorne Deming

 

Pomegranates fell from the trees

in our sleep. If we stayed

in the sun too long

there were aloes

to cool the burn.

Henbane for predators

and succulents when the rain was scarce.

 

There was no glorified past

to point the way

true and natural

for the sexes to meet.

He kept looking to the heavens

as if the answer were anywhere

but here. I was so bored

with our goodness

I couldn’t suck the juice

from one more pear.

 

It’s here, I kept telling him,

here, rooted in the soil

like every other tree

you know. And I wove us

a bed of its uppermost branches.

 

Deming, Alison. “Eve Revisited.” The Poetry Foundation. Poetry Foundation. Web. 28 Feb. 2013

I think this poem is nice to make a poster even before I read it thoroughly. That’s because the total length of the poem and the length of each line are short. When I looked at the poetry posters models online, I found that many of the posters chose quite long poems, which make me unwilling to read carefully. The purpose of poetry posters is to combine the art of poetry with other elements, rather than to simply pile texts together with glaring images or other things. So in my opinion, short poems are more suitable than long ones because they are easier to be properly arranged. And I found it even better for a poster because its theme is about love. Love is the eternal theme for all kinds of art, that is to say this poem has a very large range of readers. If the poem is made to be a poster, it has a large population of audience, anyone with has experienced love and waiting could be its audience. And it can evoke resonance within the poem and its audience and within the audience. I decide to use pictures of imageries in the poem, such as a woman, a plant, not limiting to a tree, but something growing lonely but tough, and images connected with heartbroken, disappointment, waiting, and longing for love. I think it’s a good idea to focus on the last stanza and emphasize the words “here” which have already been emphasized in the original poem since this part is the climax and essence of the poem. Other parts might be in smaller font size, but also need deliberate dispose. This poem is highly emotional-sensitive, so every detail should be handled carefully and designed beautifully.

Leave a comment